The Real World Is Just Time Off Between Holidays.

*wishes it were true*

I’ve just come back from a fortnight spent first in the south of Scotland, in and around Dumfries & Galloway, and second, in Fort William, up in the Scottish Highlands. I’d hoped from the off that this little get away would help to re-ignite my fire, and Christ, I was made to wait! It took me 10 days to figure out what I wanted to do, after picking up a book from the gift shop at Glenfinnan. A collection of folktales proved to be, hopefully, exactly what I needed to get back on a fantasy track.

Inspired by gorgeous Scottish scenery, Welsh and Scottish folklore and Scottish castles, I am hoping that I am, at last, on a productive plane of existence. This is good news, and I feel optimistic. Next comes characters, names, and places. This time, however, I won’t be waiting to solidify all this information before starting to write. One or two characters, I should think, 5-10 names, and I’ll go from there.

“I am the rightful Eldritch King! You will kneel at my feet, or you will die by my hands!” This quote, at the moment, sums up my hopes and dreams with regards to thematic and stylistic choices. I do feel pretty good about it. There are some interesting plot points swimming around my head, as well as some particularly curious folktales. I’m looking forward to dallying with folksy beasties. 🙂

Leave a Reply

