My NaNoWriMo, day 1. Goal is 5001.

 

I have quite obviously been very lacking in these updates. For that, I have no excuse. BUT, I celebrated my birthday on October 14th, which is really the beginning of the new year in my world, so I made a resolution; write, and write a lot. NaNoWriMo gives me the perfect chance to get back into fiction writing, to try and soothe my confidence issues and just get back into the flow of things. I wrote a 200,000 novel that may never see the light of day if I don’t sort out this confidence mullarkey. This new endeavour is designed with the hope of telling a new story in a way that I can be happy with. 

Right then, to NaNoWriMo. I’ve started a bit late and, in truth, never really intended to take part in the first place, if not for my struggling girlfriend, who needs a writing buddy. At any rate, I’m in now, and I’m fully expecting to start struggling somewhere around November 10th. In the mean time, I’ve got 5000 words to write before I’m caught up.

I like the idea behind NaNoWriMo, the ability to develop my… ability is always welcome, but also to work on discipline and developing constructive habits and routines is a monumental benefit. In order to keep on track, I understand that we need to aim for around 1700 words a day (rounding up), and traditionally I can manage that, but I’ve not put any thought into plot or structure, so it might get difficult.

This goes out to any other NaNoWriMo’ers who may come across this blog, my page is at – http://nanowrimo.org/participants/kplanyon and I’m very much hoping to make/find some new writing buddies for a bit of encouragement and support along the way. I’m more than happy and, honestly, quite enthusiastic about helping out where I can or even just offering another pair of eyes. If I can meet some new writers (of fantasy preferably, or action, horror, supernatural, ya, sci fi) then I will consider the month of November a success even before I hit 50,000 words. 

For me, the world of the writer is one that should be filled with constructive criticism, support, encouragement and the sharing of ideas and beliefs. There should be nothing insular about it, it’s hard enough to make a successful career with nothing but a desire to build worlds from words and paper.

See you all on the other side, I hope.

Leave a Reply

