So it’s true, after all.

I’ve heard on several occasions that by the time you’ve finished redrafting your story, it will be almost unrecognisable when compared to your original first draft. I was operating in naiveté, it seems, for a rather long time. I thought that I could simply re-work anything that didn’t quite sit right, but the plot holes are beginning surface and already I’ve had to shift chapters to new spots, re-write and re-work all manner of minor plot points for continuity. 

I’ve had some major developments today which have completely changed some aspects of the story and I have come to a particularly problematic stumbling block that is giving me a bit of stick. It’s all part of the job, I’m sure, there’s just a part of me that is still dealing with frustrations from my days in education when I learned that my mind is not well adapted to handling complex situations or managing multiple lines of thought. I’ve managed so far to juggle about 6 different storylines, which I’m trying to weave together, and the more complicated it gets, the harder it is to keep track. Thank God for Scrivener, though, it’s corkboard feature will hopefully prove endlessly beneficial.

It’s a trial and a half, to be sure, and I’m beginning to think the re-draft is going to take longer than it took to write the damn thing in the first place. It’s a difficult task, doing this for the first time, I hope it get’s easier.

2 comments on “So it’s true, after all.

  1. Not always true. Sometimes you get it right the first time. Sometimes you have to throw the entire manuscript away. On average, there are substantial changes, but as you grow and become more comfortable within your craft, editing becomes more about grammatical errors than story changes. Continued success to you and thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

