Dream-thinking.

It’s a peculiar thing, that I don’t experience too often, but from time to time I fall asleep and my thoughts continue on as if I were wide awake. I like those moments, I seem to get a good deal of the more difficult plotting and world-building done when I’m in this place. I don’t always remember every little detail that I concoct, but more often than not, I remember solid chunks of it. It comes out in fleshy lumps more than anything, ready to be shaped and moulded and put to use. It’s also a distinct pleasure to see various elements come together independently of any conscious effort on my part; characters, places, events, all of them, it’s a weird and wonderful little process that we, as writers, get to enjoy and it took me a long time to get the knack of it.

Leave a Reply

