Tuesday, 13th November 2012

What do I have to say today? Not a lot besides an update regarding my burgeoning love affair with floor plans. I’m still on track to have this story finished before the end of the month, events have now started to come together and I hope, very soon, to introduce the big bad baddy for the series.

I was once focused purely on page and word counts, never thinking I would be content with anything that wasn’t a fairly large number, like 1,400 pages or 500,000 words, but I have had those preconceptions surgically removed. Writing this first draft has served, in a way, as a reality check with regards to my personal hopes and expectations. It’s not a case of working towards a desired goal, not for me at least, it is very much a case of letting the work dictate the length. I’m sure this is a relatively widespread notion.

It’s been quite a trip, watching my characters and story take on a life of their own. Before I started writing Long May Men Have Voices, a long time ago it seems, I was rich with anticipation as I imagined my heroes going about their daily lives, the bad guys going about their mischief, butchers, bakers and candle-stick makers, all waiting for the story to begin. Now it has, now my world is seeing true life for the first time. It’s a thoroughly rewarding experience.

2 comments on “Tuesday, 13th November 2012

  1. Floor plans? Wow. You -are- into detail. Lately, I’ve been doing a lot of fan fiction, which can help build a following, but makes me lazy on world building. Great for inspiration and focusing on my characters, though.

    My first novel was 150,000 words before I decided to try cutting it into a trilogy.

    Nice that you can spend so much time immersing in your writing.

    • KPlanyon says:

      I can not understate the value of in depth worldbuilding. Especially for a fantasy novel. I’d go so far as to say it was necessary, at least for me, anyway. I’ve got notes on famous artists and authors in my world, statues and monuments, all aspects of culture and society, magic, organisations, a religious pantheon for several nations etc etc and so on. It has helped me greatly. Perhaps it isn’t necessary for other authors, but having spent the best part of several years forging this world o’ mine, the impact of extensive notes has been invaluable. I’ve got notes on around 230 characters which I have used multiple times to find ideas and arcs. It’s all useful, not to mention how nicely it feeds the god complex.

Leave a Reply

